Eighty-four Sibley students earn AP Scholar honors
Eighty-four Sibley students earn AP Scholars honors
Posted on 11/06/2014

West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan Area Schools (District 197) proudly congratulates the 84 Henry Sibley students who have earned Advanced Placement Scholar Awards recognition for their exceptional achievement on Advanced Placement (AP) Exams. 

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school and potentially to earn college credit for successful performance on the AP Exams. 

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams depending on average test score and number of exams taken. Scholar Awards are computed throughout a student’s career, thus students can earn additional honors as they progress through high school if they take more exams.

Among the 84 Henry Sibley award recipients this year, 23 were juniors (now seniors) during the 2014 spring AP Exam season. They have one more year in which to complete college-level work and possibly earn a higher level AP Scholar Award.

AP is accepted by more than 3,600 colleges and universities worldwide for college credit on the basis of successful AP Exam scores. This includes more than 90 percent of four-year institutions in the United States. Research consistently shows that AP students who score a 3 or higher on AP Exams (based on a scale from 1 to 5, with 5 being the highest) typically experience greater academic success in college and higher graduation rates than students who do not participate in AP.

Granted to students who complete three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher. 

Class of 2014
Emily Anderson
Christine Barkley
Lauren Barli
April Bleecker
Gavin BollingerBrown
Grace Brooks
Darius Cissan
Laura Dill
Aspen Doud
Shayla Dunning
Anne Fudenberg
Cassandra Furlong
Benjamin Golden
Faye Golden
Erin Haider

Hannah Karp
Mairghread Langston
Bailey Larsen
Brandon Less
Meagan Mathison
Aidan Mcconnel
Zoe Milavetz
Mikaela Rogers Ziegler
Isidro Santoyo
Noah Staples
Ashley Topp
Sophia Warwick
Martha Wassweiler

Class of 2015
Courtney Dean
Catelin Do
Michelle Friedmann
Kyle Gilberg
Lindsey Gilberg
Jennifer Gravelle
Amanda Latulippe
August Lee
Daniel Levitt
Elyse Menssen
Cody Sultan
Carolyn Toenges
Eddy Urena
Samuel Wiessner
David Wilton


Granted to students who earn an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. 

Class of 2014
Kaela Bader
Matthew Bergholtz
Kaitlyn Mckay
Miranda Meissner
Talia Milavetz
Kevin Nguyen
Kellen Overvig
Megan Ryan
Jack Smith
Graham Smith


Class of 2015
Martha Beyene
Amanda Hansen
Brandon Krisko
Katheryn Menssen
Christopher Prokosch
Adrian Rocke
Sarah Yotter



Granted to students who received an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

Class of 2014
Emma Alley
Margaretta Bruestle
Isaac Cortes Mera
Jacob Dodge
Matthew Foman
Michael Gleason
Jacob Jaeger
Kevin Kolstad
Jonathan LaBounty
Kyle Larges
William Larsen
William Lutz

Lukas Martinez
Noah Meltzer
Nathaniel Miller
Matthew Oboyle
Joseph Parnell
Jesse Parritz
Christopher Petschen
Kori Scherer
Tyler Solem
James Wills
Allison Willwerscheid

Class of 2015
Meital Gerwitz