Special Education

DISTRICT STAFF

Sara Lein
Director of Special Education
K-12+ Special Education Programming
651-403-7019 
sara.lein@isd197.org

Laurie Hume
Assistant Director of Early Learning Programs
Early Childhood Special Education, Birth to 6
651-403-8352 | laurie.hume@isd197.org

Rachel Johnston
Special Education Coordinator
504, Non-Public, Branch Out Transition Program, and Out of District Placement
651-403-7017 | rachel.johnston@isd197.org

Jennifer Miller
Special Education Coordinator
Academic/Instruction Consultant, Due Process Monitoring, Testing Accommodations
651-403-8064
jennifer.miller@isd197.org

Karen Conway
Special Programs Manager
651-403-8369 | karen.conway@isd197.org

Molly Engle
Administrative Specialist
651-403-7011 | molly.engle@isd197.org

Special education is specially designed instruction based on the needs of an individual student. As required by law, School District 197 provides a free, appropriate public education to about 900 students with disabilities from birth through age 21 who attend both public and private schools. A team develops, implements and reviews each student’s individual program.

The following range of services are provided depending on a student’s individual needs:

  • Students with disabilities functioning in the regular education program with the assistance of special education supportive services such as: consultation with the classroom teacher, monitoring progress, modification of the curriculum, or direct teaching within the regular classroom.
  • Students with disabilities functioning in the regular education program but needing services outside the regular classroom.
  • Students with disabilities whose primary placement is in a special education program with some mainstreaming in regular education.
  • Students who, due to the intensity of their needs, are placed in specialized programs in locations other than their home school.

Special Education Leadership Team

Special Education Advisory Committee

Special Education Resources

School-based Special Education Staff