Title I

TITLE 1 TEACHERS

Julie Boerger

651-403-7826 | julie.boerger@isd197.org

Becky Clark
651-403-7872 | rebecca.clark@isd197.org

Cristin DeLaForest
651-403-7821 | cristin.delaforest@isd197.org

Sarah Kantola
651-403-7824 | sarah.kantola@isd197.org

John Anderson
651-403-8130 | john.anderson@isd197.org

Gretchen Gieser
651-403-8139 | gretchen.gieser@isd197.org

Maria Pasquerella
651-403-8155 | maria.pasquerella@isd197.org

TITLE 1 DISTRICT COORDINATOR

Sara Lein
Director of Special Programs
651-403-7019 | sara.lein@isd197.org

Title 1 is a federally funded program designed to provide additional instruction for children who need academic support in meeting the Minnesota Academic Standards in reading and mathematics. The goal of West St. Paul - Mendota Heights - Eagan Area Schools' Title 1 program is to help children succeed in the regular classroom and improve achievement in basic and advanced skills. 

Title 1 services are available to children who attend Garlough Environmental Magnet School and Moreland Arts and Health Sciences Magnet School. Schools receiving Title 1 funds work to identify children in need of educational support, set goals for academic improvement, measure student progress, and develop programs that support regular classroom instruction. 

Selection for participation in Title 1 programming is based on the review assessment information and classroom teachers' evaluation of classroom performance. 

PIE (Parents in Education) Nights

PIE night is a monthly opportunity for the Title I teachers, students and parents to get together and learn new reading strategies or math games in a fun and relaxed atmosphere. The night generally includes a group read-aloud or learning a new math game. Title I teachers will introduce families to new ways to help their children improve reading and math skills, and students have the chance to bring home a new book or learning tool. Dates of upcoming PIE Nights will be posted on Garlough and Moreland's calendars.