School Board

The West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan Area School Board is comprised of seven members from the school district community. The school board is responsible for overseeing and setting the strategic direction of the school district. The public is invited to attend school board meetings and contact members of the school board with questions and concerns regarding School District 197 business. Board members' contact information is posted on the School Board Members page.

Follow What We are Doing

  • Review our meeting agendas and minutes, posted in district buildings and here prior to each meeting
  • Attend our board meetings
    • The regular board meeting is held on the first Monday of each month and the work session is held the third Monday of every month.
    • All board meetings are open to the public, unless otherwise noted.
    • There is a designated time for community comments at all regular meetings.
  • Watch our board meetings on cable television or Vimeo
  • Read our district communications and local newspapers for coverage of significant issues

All board meetings are open to the public. A list of agenda items for each work session, regular meeting, and special board meeting is available prior to the meeting.

Board Meeting Packets, Agendas, and MinutesSchool Board Policies

Learn More

Mary Amidon
Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent


The school board of School District 197 has seven members who are elected at large, to four-year terms. Elections for school board members are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday of November in odd-numbered years.

Elections Campaign Financial Reports


Meet Your School Board Members

  • The School District 197 School Board consists of seven community members, each elected for a four-year term.
  • Superintendent Peter Olson-Skog serves as an ex officio board member and is responsible for implementation of board policies and directives.

Meet the Board

Meeting Dates and Times

Unless otherwise indicated, Regular School Board meetings are scheduled to convene at 6 p.m. at City of Mendota Heights Council Chambers (1101 Victoria Curve, Mendota Heights). School Board Work Sessions begin at 5 p.m. at Henry Sibley High School, Room A-241 (1897 Delaware Ave, Mendota Heights). 

2019-20 School Board Meeting Schedule

Watch School Board Meetings

All Regular School Board meetings are scheduled to be broadcast live over cable television on the following channels:

  • Town Square Television, Channel 20: Serves residents of Inver Grove Heights, Lilydale, Mendota, Mendota Heights, South St. Paul, Sunfish Lake and West St. Paul.
  • E-TV, Channel 15: Serves residents of Eagan.

You can watch the most current meeting here and find past meetings by clicking below.

Watch Meetings Here