Winter 2024 High School Activities Recap

The winter season for Two Rivers High School athletics and activities just wrapped up, and what a season our 359 high school winter student-athletes and 116 high school winter activity participants had! Here’s a recap of the winter season—please join us in congratulating our students and sending a special thanks to all the coaches, advisors, and families for supporting our students in so many ways this winter!

A special thanks to Studio Mendota and Rouse Productions for the photos.

The Two Rivers Theatre Department presented Big Fish: High School Edition on two different weekends at the Two Rivers Auditorium. The production received numerous honors through The Hennepin Theatre Trust. Students who received an individual honor—Max Oliver-Machuca, Quinn Hendel, Anastasia Baron, Julia Francis, Savannah Carr—will be able to perform and/or be involved in the Honored Individual’s Showcase performance night on June 11.

The Lightning Turtles robotics team participated in Duluth’s Northern Lights Regional Robotic Tournament on February 29th-March 2nd. The was ranked 25th in qualifications. The team is working on some adjustments to the robot as they gear up to participate in Minneapolis at the 10,000 Lakes Regional event April 3rd-6th. Congratulations to the team for being recognized by First Robotics Competition as the 2024 Digital Animation Award winner. 

The Speech team continues to grow and develop skills as a team. As a team they finished second at the section tournament. In the invitational season they were tournament champions once, took second place twice and third place twice. Three entries are advancing to the  Minnesota State High School League state speech tournament; all section champions, Grace Lyles in Discussion, Quinn Hendel and Scooter Stoik in Duo and Thomas Larsen in Grate Speeches. The team has 17 total entries to the National Individual Event Tournament of Champions. With some students qualifying in more than one category here are the 13 competitors who are qualified: Quinn Hendel, Scooter Stoik, Grace Lyles, Mckinley Cherrier, Thomas Larsen, Anna Crain, Andre Carerras, Elizabeth Barnes, Josh Langemo, Leo Rundquist, Amelia Elgstuen, and Patrick Bohmbach,  Five competitors were awarded the National Speech and Debate Association Speaking and Service Award. The following three students were recognized as NSDA Academic All Americans this year: Thomas Larsen, Joshua Langemo and Elizabeth Barnes. The program continues to promote competitive success, academic success and the power to advocate for and serve your community. 

The Two Rivers Winterguard has performed their 2024 program “Home”  in 5 competitions throughout the metro area, taking home multiple third place finishes and a second place finish at the Winter Prairie Colors competition in Eden Prairie on March 16th. They will finish their season competing at the North Star Circuit Championships at Osseo High School on April 6th.

The Dance team had a perfect 4-0 season record, won the Metro East Conference Championships, and competed in the MSHSL State High Kick Tournament! Bridget Arnold, Hannah Corbett, Catalina Martinez, and Charlotte Chandler earned All Conference. Shannon Lynch, Vanessa Castillo, and Kelsey Appelbaum were named Honorable Mention All Conference. Charlotte Chandler was named All State Kick, and Elena Heroff was named All State Jazz.

The Gymnastics team had a 3-3 season record and took home third place in the Metro East Conference. Lucy Rapp, Ellie Kessler, Layla Pliego-Brostrom, and Kaja Aspelund were named All Conference. Madeline Kephart earned Honorable Mention All Conference. Lucy Rapp also performed at the MSHSL State Tournament, making it her fourth year competing at the state level. Lucy earned a spot on the podium with a 7th place on the floor. She was 10th on the vault and 12th in the All-Around!

Girls Hockey
The Girls Hockey team finished with an 8-14-3 season record. Bryn Christopherson and Lilly Leitner were All Conference. Kaitlyn Galeazzi, Edy Halverson, and Ella Johnson were Honorable Mention All Conference.

Boys Hockey
The Boys Hockey team finished with a 17-9 season record. The program had a historic 1st victory over Hill-Murray during the season and finished 4th in the MEC. Vince Schuehle, Eddie Auran and Brady Altier were All Conference. Nate Rohrer, Andrew Eckmann, and Will Auran were Honorable Mention All Conference. Brady Altier was named Goalie of the Year in the MEC.

Girls Basketball
The Girls Basketball team finished their season with a 15-13 season record and 5th place in the MEC. Gabrielle Kirchner and Isabelle Kirchner received All Conference. Sophia Amundson and Elayna VanNett received Honorable Mention All Conference. Gabrielle Kirchner and Elayna VanNett were named Honorable Mention All State. The team lost by five points in the section semifinals to the eventual section champion. 

Boys Basketball
The Boys Basketball team had a 10-17 season record and 6th place in the MEC. Tate Slowiak was All Conference, and Thomas Hesse and Lamont Michaels were Honorable Mention All Conference. 

Girls Nordic Ski
The Girls Nordic Ski finished strong as Metro East Conference Champions! Sophia Kanavati, Ella Hoffman, Willa Vogen, and Josie Miller were All Conference. Julia Munson, Claire Stein, and Stella Appleton were Honorable Mention All Conference.

Boys Nordic Ski
Boys Nordic Ski finished in 3rd place in the Metro East Conference. Silas Bloom and Quinn Keyes were All Conference. George Dahlager and Garrett Aukema were Honorable Mention All Conference.

Boys Swim and Dive
The Boys Swim and Dive finished with a 5-2 season record and a 3rd place finish in the MEC. Nathan Frisch, Jack Dahlager, Ruslan Bayuk, Finley Gustafson, Jackson Cook, Jimmy Friedrichs, and Marais Johnson were All Conference. Charley Cook, Daniel Kloos, and Peter Maslow were Honorable Mention All Conference. Finley Gustafson earned a spot on the podium at the MSHSL State Swim Meet with an 8th place finish in the 100 Freestyle! 

The Wrestling team finished with a 12-15 season record and a 5th place finish in the MEC. Jayden Kinsel-Arredondo was named All Conference and Brodie Nguyen was named Honorable Mention All Conference. Emiliano Carrilo was a MSHSL State Participant.  

Congratulations to Jeffrey Rosga and the Dakota Hawks United Floor Hockey team for bringing home the hardware for 3rd Place at the State Tournament.

A special shoutout to the Two Rivers Pep Band and the new Two Rivers Cheer Team for bringing the school spirit this season!

Congratulations to all of our Warriors! Together, we are #WarriorStrong